Haemophiliac fights off robbers

19/09/2008 09:05 – (SA)

Virginia Keppler, Beeld

Pretoria – A haemophiliac from Pretoria North thought he was going to bleed to death after he was attacked and stabbed in his bed by intruders at about 02:30 on Wednesday.

Frans van Tonder, 52, sustained a head wound and bleeding on the brain after three armed robbers beat him with a steel pipe.

His attackers also stabbed him in the chest, head, arms and hands.

“I would never have thought that something like this could happen to me.

“They got in despite the six-foot-high fence around my stand and all the security gates and doors,” Van Tonder said from his bed in Akasia hospital in Pretoria on Thursday.

Fought back

He was asleep when the attackers entered his home.

Van Tonder, an SAB Miller employee, said it wasn’t clear how they got in, because there were no signs of a break-in and he knows that he didn’t leave his doors open.

“The next moment they were on my bed and on top of me and started hitting me with a steel pipe. They stabbed me in the chest, head, arms and hands, but I fought back,” he said.

“I think I must have shouted out really loudly, because the noise woke the couple living in the flat on my property and they came to my rescue.

“They (the attackers) then stole my wallet and a few things and fled.”

Van Tonder said the couple immediately called the police and the ambulance service.

He was bleeding profusely. “The once white carpet in my bedroom is now soaked in blood. And my bed too.”

The hospital said his blood count was normal and that he was recovering well.

Van Tonder said he usually slept with his gun under his pillow, but had recently started to lock it in the safe.

“I’m actually glad I locked it away, because otherwise they might have knocked me unconscious and stolen my firearms. They could even have shot me with my own gun,” he said.

Source:News24
http://www.news24.com/News24/South_Africa/News/0,9909,2-7-1442_2395955,00.html

Leave a Reply

